Saturday's painting...

... A4. Acrylics squished on the paper. Mixed media on top...basically children's tempera paint sticks...


3 hours spent on it so far. 


This is not about a finished painting, this one. With the tempera paint sticks I was building up layers and spreading and blending with my fingers. It was the satisfaction of using my fingers.


 And the slow work of gently, slowly blending. 


And I was well away into myself in another world...

I was texting a friend earlier, and she asked to see today's painting, so I sent her a photo. Oh no, I don't like that she texted back, it's not finished, you need to do this and that and the other...

I explained it was about the satisfaction of using my fingers etc etc, but she couldn't see any of this at all. She wanted to see a neatly executed finished piece of artwork...


Nothing I could say (text), could get her to understand...

So that was me grumpy and a little out of sorts...

Every painting does not have to be a carefully executed piece of 'finished' artwork. And not every painting I post will be 'finished' so to speak, but I will have got what I want out of it. And that is what this is about for me. 


Popeye is hugging me at the mo!


I will catch up with comments and looking at your posts this weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.