Sunday's Painting...

...not a calm painting today....

A4 sized. Acrylic paint squishing on the paper, then using the tempera paint sticks of yesterday for the picture, and the black fude pen for the trees...

I had to collect some parcels, so I went out yesterday morning and on the way I passed another bungalow with half the roof torn off. I don't know if it had just happened because a few people were out of their houses and standing around...goodness knows what the rest of that roof will be like today, Sunday, after the horrendous winds all night.

Storm Dennis has been very windy here. There is more fencing gone with Storm Dennis trashing and disintegrating the fence, next door on the old lady’s side (she’s not there now, she has been put in a home, so the place is empty, and I have no idea who or how to contact now).

I came in because there was nothing I could do yesterday. The gusts are horrendous. Then, just after dark, there was an almighty bang on the side of my bungalow. 

I went out of the kitchen door. Some of my fencing had come away, and had crashed into my metal ironwork gate. There was no way I could get out off my property.  The ironwork gate is my only way of getting out to the front. If I need to leave I will have to climb out of the front window...which I am not physically capable of doing.

My car was on the other side of the metal gate. And that was undamaged because the metal ironwork gate had taken the full force of the fence.

Nothing I could do last night. Too many flying objects.

Neither me nor Popeye slept last night. I think I was taking my cue from Popeye because he didn’t want to stay in a bungalow being buffeted by strong winds, and obviously he didn’t want to go out either. He got upset when I blocked the cat flap. So I unblocked it and he sat by the cat flap. And I sat in the kitchen with him awhile.

The way he sat was like he wanted the option to flee if he thought  the bungalow was going to collapse.

Finally I persuaded him to come to the front room and I blocked the cat flap for the night.

We do have earth tremors here. Just slight earthquakes really. And I had noticed in the past that all my cats disappeared that day (before the earth tremor), and then once the earth tremor happened, awhile later the cats returned and came inside again.

So with Popeye insistent on sitting by the cat flap last night put me on hyper alert over Storm Dennis.

Poor lad is exhausted and is sleeping in my bed now.

The wind had abated a lot, so I went outside to try and clear enough so I could at least get out of the iron gate and leave if I needed to, and access my car...

Then a bit later I tried again to try and clear some of the rubble.

But I had to come back in. It looked deceptively calmish from indoors, but once out there, there are still very powerful gusts of wind. It’s not safe with this flapping debris, and then the rain started...

I managed fill one rubble bag full of Storm Dennis debris but that is my lot for today.

Storm Dennis smashed my quail hutch (no quail in it now, so don’t worry). Henrietta died of old age a few years ago, and I was going to get more quail because she was a good layer of eggs.

Now the quail hutch needs smashing smaller to get in the rubble bag...

That will be tomorrow's job hopefully...

Try and keep safe and dry in Storm Dennis. The wind is building up into a frenzy again. And the rain is lashing down with a ferocity. It is 2pm in the afternoon...

I hope those of you who got a red Met office warning alert for rain are okay. It was for South Wales in particular. I cannot recall ever seeing red rain warning alert before...


I am trying to catch up with comments and your posts but I keep losing my internet connection...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.