Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

The Metro

The tail end of Storm Dennis was still around this morning so whilst not too windy (although it had been overnight) it was pouring with rain.  By early afternoon it had eased off and I remembered that it was the second day of the annual Milton Keynes Model Railway Society show so I went for a look. It wasn't as big as last year but I saw one layout that had been on last year's 'Great Model Railway Challenge' on Channel 5, and recognised the modellers that had made it.  But I thought this one had to be my Blip; it was a model of the Tyneside Metro with Bank Foot and Regent Centre stations. It has quite a significance for me as 40 years ago I lived close to Bank Foot station in Newcastle when the Metro first opened; in those days it was the end of the line but it has since been extended to the airport.  I had spent five months living in a hotel before moving in to my flat and quite a few of the engineers who had been working on the Metro were there too on a longish basis, so there were plenty of boozy nights out!  Happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.