River Lowther

I decided to stay local and walked across the fields to Askham and then through the muddy woods down to Low Gardens Bridge over the very full Lowther which I followed along to Askham bridge which was closed due to flooding earlier. I was flagging so had a half and a read of the newspaper at the Queen’s Head before girding myself to climb up Askham Fell. It was at this point I probably should have just taken the top lane home because as I got higher and more exposed I was struggling to keep any forward momentum going. When I got to the gate onto the open Fell I had to push all my weight against it to open it and, as I went to pass through, the sheer strength of the gusts pinned me between the gate and the wall. It was so absurd I could only laugh and it took the couple bowling down with the wind at their backs to pull as I pushed to open it so we could all go our respective ways. As I struggled on it was as at the end of the far plantation when I began to think I could go back to Askham and see if I could get a taxi. I didn’t think I could face going back and began to think I might just lie down and give up. Finally, finally, I turned the corner and the wind was behind me and I was on the home straight. Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.