The second half of life..

By twigs

Ohau Canal

It's been a super relaxed day - a bit of droning along the Ohau Canal, a decision made soon after I saw that the [mostly] blue skies had returned......a provisions stop at Twizel then back to set up camp again and pop along to see Mr & Mrs G, the time thieves.  I've almost decided that I'm going to stay until their eggs hatch.  Seeing tiny wee grebe chicks is something I haven't seen before and I'm beginning to feel like their Great Aunt now, I've visited them so many times!  The chap I spoke to last week said he was sure the eggs had been then about 3 weeks; Uncle Google says grebe's incubate their eggs for 27-29 days.  I did ask Mrs G when her due date was and she mouthed something to me (extras), but I didn't quite catch it.  I'm still none the wiser, but seeing time is my friend at the moment, it's a plan.

Re the pic.....I should mention that the canal water really is turquoise too!   I found this explanation:
"The smallest of three parallel glacial lakes serving as water storage for the Waitaki hydroelectric system, Lake Ohau is connected by artificial canal to Lake Pukaki and Lake Tekapo. All three lakes are extremely clear and maintain an unusual turquoise color due to glacial 'flour' or rock dust carried from the mountains along their supplying rivers."   
And the grass is parched too hence the browny colour - the whole region is dry and, as a high country area, it's pretty barren too.  That's part of the reason it's a great place to photograph :)

On a completely different note, I'm feeling for the fans whose Elton concert in Auckland was cut short last night because of his ill-health but I'm feeling much more concern and compassion for the man himself.  At 72 years of age, to be performing on stage for a solid 3-hour rock gig is huge, but to be doing over 300 shows over an extended period of time has, maybe unsurprisingly, taken its toll on him.  I wish him a speedy and full recovery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.