The second half of life..

By twigs

Lake Ruataniwha

When the wind blows at Mt Cook, it howls!  And so it was last night as some stormy weather approached the West Coast.  I was woken at about 2.00am by a combination of the loudness of the wind and the effect of the wind buffeting the van; I didn't want to feel like I was on a free roller coaster ride at 2.00am that's for sure!

Having spent half the night awake it was no surprise that I slept in.  By the time I got up at 9 o'clock the rain had joined the wind.  Mid morning I headed off to a cafe in the village that has a collection of historical mountaineering images from the area which I was interested in looking at.  It turned out that they're all hanging on walls throughout the cafe and, as I didn't really want to go leaning over people's latte's to look at them, I bought a book with many of the images included.  Another Mt Cook visit - another book!  

Tootled my way very slowly back to Twizel to check in on Mr & Mrs Grebe.  Their eggs must be so close to hatching that I'm considering staying around here until they do.  After a few days without power though, I've opted for the very quirky Ruataniwha campground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.