The second half of life..

By twigs

Sensible chooks

Woke to very light rain and virtually no wind, checked the rain radar and the local roads statuses and decided it was all safe to travel.  I knew the road was narrow and windy but I'd forgotten just how narrow and windy!  As expected, the two and a half hour journey actually took me longer.  I was surprised though that it took close to six hours.  About an hour of this was due to a serious accident - I pulled over to let 2 fire engines and a smaller truck pass then about 5kms further arrived at the scene which was crawling with police, fire and ambulance.  When it was all cleared - about an hour later - and we were able to drive on, there was still a car on its side in a ditch.  A tow truck had already removed another car from the road.  One of the firemen had told me that it wasn't as bad as it looked.  I can only hope that no-one was seriously injured or worse.  It was a very somber reminder that windy roads that are rained on after a period of hot dryness can be very slippery.  Another stop along the way was to let a few vehicles pass me and I found I was sharing the lay-by with these two (wild?) chooks who were sheltering under a picnic table from the light rain.  Very sensible chooks!  On then to Whitianga to do a little grocery shopping for J and to get some sanitation liquids for the van.  I couldn't believe how hard the latter was and I ended up spending well over an hour visiting various locations around the small town before I got some. Finally arrived at J's. It was wonderful to see her again and of course, a lengthy catch-up began and will, I'm sure, continue for a few days longer yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.