The second half of life..

By twigs

A bit of a stop-start day but you get that with no clear plan in mind.  Still, I'm not complaining - it feels as though I'm settling into van life and one of the dominant thoughts that keeps repeating itself is.....'I *have* time' so I'm very happy to be using it how I wish, however the day unfolds.

So today's stop-start has brought me along the road just a few kms to Lake Mapourika.  Along the journey I've been to Petr Hlavacek's gallery at Whataroa where I enjoyed a long conversation with him about all sorts of things.....photography, Whataroa, tourism, New Zealand, setting up his gallery, printing, West Coast life.  What a lovely and interesting man - and stunning images too.

Into Whataroa township and I contemplated a trip to the Kotuku (white heron) nesting area.  I've been before and enjoyed it and wondered about doing it again.  That idea was put to bed when I saw the note on their door - "Back at 2.00".  It was 12.30!  An interesting approach for a tourist venture to operate but this is the West Coast!  Even thoguh I have time on my hands I didn't much feel like just waiting around so took the sign to mean 'this is not the right time for you C'.

So here I am - a new campground location at MacGreggors.  It's big and a bit impersonal but it's quiet, clean and spacious so that's good with me.

PS This image is not the one I wanted to post.  I made a composite panorama shot of the lake but I haven't quite mastered merging them it seems.  C'est la vie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.