Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Mono Monday: Looking up

I saw this crane on my walk on Sunday and went back today to take some photos. I really, really like cranes and love watching them work. I love how they are built with all the metal lines and the circular staircase going up the middle. I find them so elegant!
We have pale grey opaque skies this morning and this afternoon it will rain. Some dramatic clouds would have been nice, but I took things as they were!

A little note:
The crane for lifting heavy loads was invented by the Ancient Greeks in the late 6th century BC. The archaeological record shows that no later than c. 515 BC distinctive cuttings for both lifting tongs and lewis irons begin to appear on stone blocks of Greek temples.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.