Snow day!

I've had the best day, even though my muscles ache a bit this evening!

We awoke to about 20cm of thick, fluffy snow blanketing everything. The trains to Huntingdon were being delayed, and we therefore decided it was too bad for Alex to face the 90+ minute journey to college, which requires precision timing to ensure he catches the college bus. So I got to return to bed for an extra hour or so :)

I then finished a report before walking into town to fetch my new glasses, which are a great improvement. After this I bought a new pair of walking boots half-price at Blacks. While I was in there I also found some half-price fur-lined snow boots and a toboggan, both of which have almost sold out in Peterborough since the snow arrived last week.

After lunch, all four of us headed out to the rather small slopes at Ferry Meadows to put the toboggan through its paces. The down side of living in the flat lands is the absence of good hills for tobogganing, and the favoured slope was fairly crowded. I'd taken the camera intending to photograph the event, but it looked such fun that I thought I'd have a go too, the first time for about thirty years.

The first run was a bit scary, but I found that I was actually quite good at steering it and controlling my course, so ended up going down quite a few times. Its certainly very good exercise, as my muscles are telling me, but I'm hoping that the snow will last a few more days so that I can do it all again. Snowman building is on the cards tomorrow too...

Oh, and I finished the first stages of some home-made marmalade, that'll be finished off in the morning. I'm using a different method this year, which involves boiling the oranges whole, so it'll be interesting to see how it compares with my previous recipe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.