Today's Memories

By Pxas

Sunday

This is a view just two blocks away from where my Mom lives in Brooklyn.  Such a great fantastic view to watch the 4th of July fireworks.

Anyway, it's time to part again and I hate this moment very much.  I try not to be emotional, but when I see my mom cry and my sister then it's over.  I give in and cry with them.  I have a great life in Switzerland but I had to leave my family in NY.  It's so hard.  As we get older it's even harder.  Mom is 81 now and who knows if this is the last time that I will see her?!  I know I should not think like that but it's reality.  I wished she could come over to me just one last time.  Just to see our new house.  But that's no longer a possibility as she has dementia.  I cannot take her out of her comfort zone. It hurts so much.  I'm in tears just writing about it.

Anyway, there was a chance that my flight could be canceled due to a storm "Sabine" in Europe.  Deep down inside I was hoping that I could stay just one more day!  But no.  The flight was not canceled.  We were just told at check-in that it's going to be a bumpy landing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.