Cherry Blossoms

It is far too early for cherry blossoms, but winter has been almost non-existent this year, so perhaps this little tree became confused. The blossoms caught the sun nicely and looked lovely against the blue sky.

I really can't and won't complain about the weather other than to acknowledge a nagging worry in the back of my brain that no rain means dry conditions and fires later on. However, someone pointed out to me that more rain means taller grass and more fuel for fires when it dries. There's just not much point in trying to rationalize anything to do with the weather anymore....

I believe I have solved the wedding dress dilemma.I practically never dress up anymore and feel that I have acquired enough clothing to see me out. Rather than spend a fortune on a dress I was told I could wear with tennis shoes as well as heels, and which I new I would never do,  I decided to go through my closet in hopes that there might be a suitable dress that I had forgotten about lurking in a dark corner. I still have the clothes I wore to all three of my children's weddings, not to mention the Armani jacket and skirt I wore to my niece Annie's wedding in Italy, so I started with them, but there are good reasons why one never wears a mother/aunt of the bride/groom outfit again. 

Soldiering on,  I found a wonderfully quirky Issey Miyake dress in the back corner of the closet. I can't have worn it more than once or twice in the last fifteen years, but something compelled me to keep it, just in case...I think it will be perfect if I can only find the right pair of shoes. No stiletto heels for a wedding in a field, even if I could  walk in them...

I live with the thought that the moment I give away a single item of clothing, the perfect opportunity for wearing it will arise...

I remember telling my friend Kim , who ran a clothing boutique, The Red Bird, in Berkeley, that I always wished there was a place where someone could keep track of my wardrobe so that when I bought something, it would go with everything I already had.  An added bonus would be to have help in determining before buying something something that it would, in fact, be one of those items that one wears constantly for years and never tires of. Kim did a pretty good job on both counts. I always joked that I had to move away before I went spent every penny to my name at Kim's boutique .

I wonder if it was just a coincidence that The Red Bird closed not long after we moved....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.