Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Tree Day

This is a tree for JoeTree Day2020 commemorating the founder of Blip.
In the baking sunshine of India, the shade of a tree makes outdoor activities possible. Mind you most of the children are without shoes and running and walking on baking hot ground with thorns and sharp stones. Sometimes we forget to be grateful for what we have.
School this morning - some concrete floors are being replaced with new tiles. They make such a difference, the concrete floors are dusty and hard to keep clean and are often penetrated by ants and other unmentionables. The tiles provide a smooth, clean, sealed floor which is easily washed and swept and much brighter too.
I had flowers in my hair today again, today I was given two roses, lovely.
I saw a couple of interesting birds today, a tree pie, similar in size and shape to a magpie but with a beautiful russet brown as well as white and a small amount of black. There was also a green woodpecker in the same area around school and then I saw a white breasted kingfisher on the wires outside my room. So nice to see exotic birds. I have a wonderful book, The Book of Indian Birds, by Sálim Ali which I keep in India, it's an amazing book with photographs of thousands of Indian birds.
In the early hours of this morning here, or yesterday evening in the UK, our new Rector was instituted (strange word).
Only 6800 steps today, in my defence it was very hot.
Talking of unmentionables as I was earlier. I was standing on the steps of the chemist... many shops here are like open fronted booths that you don't actually go into but are served as you stand on the street... when I felt something land on my head. I shook my head quickly, as one does, and a cockroach fell to the ground, I tell you true it certainly won't be doing that to anybody else, I soon saw to that!!! ... Joy!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.