Wild Wednesday: Ladybird

I was sitting at my computer this morning in my little study at home when I felt what seemed like a drip of water on my head This caused me some concern as we've recently had our roof replaced so it shouldn't be leaking...then I realised that it wasn't raining, which was even more puzzling. There are water pipes and a storage tank in the loft above the room though...should I have been worried...?!

However, when I reached up with my hand I found that in fact a little ladybird had settled in my hair. Was this a sign that the blip gods wanted me to blip it? Well, not wanting to risk their wrath I proceeded to do so. It was a bit wriggly so I put it on a piece of paper, whereupon it scuttled to the edge of the sheet then stopped, presumably not quite knowing what to do next. It stayed still long enough for me to grab my camera, macro lens & extension tubes and get this photo.

I know it's not "Tiny Tuesday", but so what? I usually like doing the "Wide Wednesday" challenge, which this week is "vivid colour" but I don't think I can wangle this macro into the wide challenge. However it is appropriate for Cailleach's Wild Wednesday challenge.

Unfortunately it's not a tree, or even on a tree, so I can't tag it for JoeTreeDay2020 but at least I can dedicate it to him! (If you don't know, Joe Tree was the original founder of blip.)

Note: I have a bit of a reputation for blipping macro photos of dead insects but I promise that this one was alive. After taking its portrait I placed it gently on a leaf in the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.