Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

That's Close Enough

Well I was less than two feet away, arm outstretched using the widest setting on the lens.

The weather was due to deteriorate so I asked L if I could get a lift to her work and I'd walk back along the canal.  Evidence of the storms at the weekend included the muddy towpath and two trees that had fallen across the towpath and stretched into the canal.  The first one could be hurdled with a little effort but the second was impenetrable and over 6 ft high and required a reversing of direction and detour through a local estate.

I was hoping to find some vivid colours for this week's Wide Wednesday theme but it was the lack of colour with these swans that caught my interest.  They really are so used to humans these days and didn't seem phased by my approach and quick photograph.  If only I could say the same for the buzzard I came across later in the walk.  He let me get closer than I expected but the very action of bringing the camera to my eye and he lifted off and flew away.  I'm not sure I'd have got a very good image as I had the compact camera with me this morning.

Day Miles: 8.1 miles       Total Miles: 245.3 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.