Maggie’s Orchid

Maggie gave us an Orchid and that is the subject of today’s Blipfoto.

This morning was Probus and Past President Roy gave a very informative talk on his expedition to Spitsbergen. He showed us the extensive range of equipment necessary for surviving two weeks exploring the land and living under canvas.

It is extremely cold, water is limited and having a daily shower is impossible.

Would he go back again? No way.

How many polar bears were killed during the expidition? None.

How many calories consumed each day, pulling 220kilos of kit on two sledges? 5000.

Back home I spend the afternoon working on my newer Mac Pro. I am installing Windows 10 in a virtual machine as Windows 7 is no longer supported.

I have Windows for one programme only which is the Computer Aided Design I have used for some 30 years. Developed by an offshoot of Cambridge University, I suspect that my Mac is probably one of a very few anywhere in the world still running this absolutely brilliant application. The name is MicroGDS.

I am not a fan of Windows and having spent the afternoon with it my bias against it remains firmly in place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.