Life of a tourist (2).

Another excellent breakfast in the Winter Garden room saw us set up for the day. Wet, so we headed off for a nearby tram that would take us to the Van Gogh Museum. Pre-booked, impressive and well organised ...but oh so very busy. A lot to take in. I struggled, but managed with the key pieces. His range of work was amazing. I knew of his mental torture and periods of instability beforehand; such a shame. My favourite piece was “Two Hands,” 1884-85, he viewed hands as expressive features (as I do). Naturally “Sunflowers” was viewed and is my Blip, the “Bedroom in Arles” was an also ran. Lunch in the gallery cafe revealed just how wet it was outside.

A quick march took us the Heineken Experience, a friend who works for them in Edinburgh had pre-booked tickets. It was busy and the younger ones enjoyed it more than my wife and I; maybe it was to do with the several complementary beers they had in a rather short time.

A wet walk saw us take the underground back to near Dam Square. A storm was now hitting the city hard - so we stayed in the hotel for a meal and then retired to The Tailor Bar again for the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.