Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Heritage

While browsing in Denny Library the other day I came across a display of leaflets for Bonnybridge and District Heritage Park. Despite living in the area I confess to never having heard of, or indeed seen, this Park before.

On closer inspection it transpires that the Park was opened only in October last year (still, have I been walking or driving around with my eyes closed?) and occupies the small area of land between Bonnybridge Community Centre and Bonnybridge Library, which is mostly taken up with the Community Centre car park. It's a case of 'blink and you'll miss it' - well, I must have blinked every time I passed it.

Spent Wednesday morning running through a 'slide show' presentation I was giving on Wednesday evening and spent the afternoon at a meeting in Cumbernauld, so made a quick detour to Bonnybridge in the early afternoon to visit this 'new' Heritage Park. There's a standing stone marking the site of an ancient burial ground (see extra), a reworking of an old mural (will keep that for another time), a more modern mural which I have Blipped previously and a series of interpretation boards all about Bonnybridge and its history.

Since it was raining rather heavily - again - and I had a meeting to attend in Cumbernauld about half-an-hour later I didn't stop by long enough to read the information on the boards. It was enough for today just to see what this Heritage Park was about and get a photo or two for my Blip journal. The things one finds on one's doorstep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.