Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Leaping letters

It is said of some books that the words really leap out of the page at you - well, that expression seems to have been the inspiration for the mural on the outside of Bonnybridge Library. It is quite a striking image in an otherwise quite grey setting.

Saturday was an odd kind of day. A meeting at 10am in Cumbernauld - on a Saturday, so much for a long lie! - finished early (always a bonus) so after a coffee with friends I decided to wander round the shops, such as they are in Cumbernauld Town Centre. A whim took me into one of the mobile phone shops: my contract had expired in May and I wondered what upgrades were available. Suffice to say, I left the shop some time later having traded in my old phone and having got myself a shiny new one. And I got money credited to my bank account. And my monthly contract is less than I was paying.

Of course, I then spent the next couple of hours personalising the settings, customising the apps and other such geeky things. (Boys with new toys really.)

One slight flaw in all this unplanned excitement was that the planned trip to buy food on my way home from Cumbernauld got somewhat forgotten about. So I jumped into the car and drove to the shops in Bonnybridge - man cannot eat by technology alone, to paraphrase (OK, totally misquote) the good Lord. Another whim, shopping now thankfully having been purchased, took me into the library and that, in turn, reminded me (a) that I hadn't taken my daily blip, and (b) I could kill two birds with one stone and try out the camera on my new phone.

And that, dear reader, is how today's photograph came about. And if you've made it this far without losing the will to live, award yourself five stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.