Nuthatch Has No Need for Your Grabbities!

For once, it was sunny! Which is news in and of itself. I took a break in my day to make a quick trek to the Arboretum. I heard some activity at the bird feeders behind Childhood's Gate, so I went over to check it out.

While several other birds ate at the feeder, the white-breasted nuthatch landed on the upper left of the feeder, walked straight down the side of it, and somehow ended up clinging to the very bottom of the feeder upside-down, with a snack in its mouth that I didn't even see it acquire!

Well, how do you like that? A stealth snacker. . . . And somehow, in this photo, all of the other birds are looking away (that's a goldfinch in flight there), which is strange in and of itself. Only the nuthatch is looking at the photographer.

Go, nuthatch, go! RESIST THOSE GRABBITIES!!! 

The soundtrack . . . Idina Menzel, with Defying Gravity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.