It’s been a musical day

The strangest thing happened to me today! I was just leaving work and I bumped into a lady I haven’t seen for many years. It happened to be my old pianist! I had to stop her and say hello wondering if she would remember me and of course she did. She told me she is still playing the piano and teaching.

Now some of you might know that I have been practicing a couple of pieces and one of them is Brahms Cello Sonata in E because it was the last piece I performed on stage and this was the lady that was my pianist. It is a piece I really want to perform again and it just seemed so serendipitous that I bump into her after so long. She was on her way to an appointment so she had to leave soon after we chatted.

When I arrived home I got my cello out and had a practice and then I looked up this lady and found her number. I called her and she was so happy I called and we have arranged to meet for coffee next week! I wonder if I will get to play the piece again after all, maybe sooner rather than later!!

I believe that these things happen for a reason and somehow we were meant to bump into each other after all this time!

“Even chance meetings are the result of karma. Things in life are fated by our previous lives. That even in the smallest of events, there’s no such thing as coincidences.” Haruki Murakami

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.