Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Changeable

I think I'm tired of ... weather. It's taking up too much space in our lives, and that's just the perspective of someone whose house hasn't been flooded, who hasn't felt invaded by the water. (The word "invaded" represents how I used to feel, before the miraculous addition of eaves to the roof at the rear of our house, facing the prevailing wind and rain, rain which would frequently find its way over the top of the wall and drip down in the most extraordinary places, including between the panes of secondary double glazing and out of the window frame of the proper double glazed windows we subsequently put in. But that's another story.)

Today's blip looks like the weather I'd like to be having - sunshine, a bit of blue sky, a picturesque huddle of old but lovingly restored cottages in the glen beside the burn which is obediently flowing between its banks. We call this the Emma Thomson path, for she is responsible for many of the walks in this side of the glen, as well as for the fine state of the houses, and we were walking there rather than up the road on the other side of the gorge because shortly before I took this photo there was a hailstorm battering down and covering the road in ball-bearings. We did actually manage to walk for about half an hour before suddenly the darkness appeared from over the hills to our left and the hail started again, painfully.

So yes, I enjoyed the brief moment of sun, and I enjoyed the walk - even if I did end up on the mossy verge because of the depth of mud on the track. But if this goes on I shall run out of things to say, things to photograph, things to blip ...

But not just yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.