Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Watery Cave?

A minor miracle occured today - I managed to leave the office in daylight and within hour or so before sunset.  Not wanting to waste the opportunity I dropped off at a parking area on the River Itchen as it headed into Winchester.

In Summer this makes a lovely, and favourite, Thursday evening walk along the river into the City. Today was no less lovely in the light of the setting sun, but I really needed wellies on to complete the walk as the playing fields adjacent to the river were flooded, and the river had overflowed onto the path in some places.

The main image is a shot across the river for Ingeborg's Abtract Thursday challenge.  I had wanted to check out the possibilty of crossing the river and walking back on the other bank ... I changed my mine when seeing that the bank had been breeched (extra).  The other extra shows the extent of the flooding, which was minor and probably non-destructive compared to other parts of the country at this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.