The second half of life..

By twigs

Tending to Humbug's unborn siblings

Knowing that I would be leaving Mr & Mrs G and baby Humbug today I thought it best if I tended to domestics first before going down to see them.  Haha!  First stop - dump station in Twizel.  I have never seen a queue like there was at a dump station!  There would have been 7 or 8 people/vehicles all trying to sort out their vehicles waterworks.  Mayhem, making a not very enjoyable job even less enjoyable.  Still, at least I'm emptied, refilled and refreshed now.  Supermarket next - why do food items all seem to run out at the same time?  Finally, recycling centre to drop off all the plastic I seem to have collected.

Down then to see the family I've temporarily adopted.  I was fully expecting to see Humbug #2 but it seems the shells are still intact so, for the immediate future at least, Humbug remains an only child. Had a lovely chat with one of the salmon farm workers who told me that they keep their Facebook page up to date with the grebe family so a I'll be able to check on progress after I leave.  I really have taken them all rather to heart. See extras for more family pics.

Off then on a relatively short trip to Tekapo via a long, late lunch at Pukaki with Mt Cook presiding over things from the other end of the lake (extras).  Unfortunately, there's been a thin, low cloud and haziness all day today which doesn't make for nice crisp, clear image but hey ho.......it's been a perfect holiday but I can't expect perfect days every day!!

I'm staying tonight at a campground in Tekapo so the electrics will be all juiced up and ready to roll by tomorrow morning too.  At least I should be good now on all fronts to get me back to home in a few days time.  I'm feeling a bit sad about the return home for various reasons.......leaving the freedom behind, leaving the mountains and lakes, leaving the wildlife, leaving the challenges, leaving the casual chats with new and ever-changing neighbours, and going home to an empty, purr-less house.  Things will be changing.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.