Kite Surfing

I'm working tomorrow so I finished a load of stuff by lunchtime and slid out for the afternoon. I went down to Rye and then round to Camber - I thought I'd have a little walk along the sea wall at Broomfield Sands before heading round to The Little Railway Café for a brew.

The first stop, at Broomfield, was brief. I got out of the car and went up to the top of the sea wall and felt the full force of the wind. It was beyond cold, it was icy and too lazy to go round so it was going through me. I'm a fair sized unit but the gusts were buffeting me and I wasn't able to stand still enough to grab some video. Of course some people were kite surfing but they must be bonkers bananas. So back in the car and round to Dungeness.

Here was the second fail of the afternoon. I got there and the cafe was empty. In I went to be stopped by the bloke behind the ticket counter - the café was closed because of a power cut. Those who know the site might smile about this as the café is about 300 yards from the fence around an advanced gas-cooled nuclear reactor which contributes 1100 MW to the national grid when it's running. It's offline just now and that might be why they couldn't pop the kettle on when I got there today.

I decided to grab some Yarg on the way home to console myself but I picked a Waitrose that doesn't have a deli with a cheese counter so I've had to make do with some Dolcelatte which is nothing like Yarg but it'll go nicely with a glass of wine later.

It was nice to get away from the PC for a while but things didn't quite go as planned - I hope that tomorrow's gig goes better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.