CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

60009 – Union of South Africa nearing Stonehouse

I've been trying to find a new viewpoint to photograph this engine. It is probably the last time it will run on the main rail network as its 10 year boiler certificate (a vital safety issue) runs out next month. It is expected that the engine will then be retired, or possibly only ever run again on private railways. 

There were 35 of these Nigel Gresley designed A4 pacific steam engines, and six survive. It is a wonderful design for express locomotives, one that produced the World Speed Record for steam hauled trains in the 1930s. As a child I managed to get in the cab of Mallard, which set that record, whilst it was awaiting departure from Kings Cross, London, for Edinburgh Waverley station. That was exciting as an eight year-old kid. 60009 – Union of South Africa - was based at Edinburgh Haymarket shed, and you can just see that name printed on the buffers.

I found an old iron bridge for the Cotswold Way footpath, between Stroud and Stonehouse, but the conditions were a bit tricky as I had to poke my camera between the old iron railings. The engine wasn't working hard, hence the lack of smoke or steam, as it was approaching the junction with the main north-south railway line between Bristol and Birmingham.

It returns from Worcester late this afternoon and I have arranged to visit my good friends Shirley and Steve, who have an old house beside the railway track about a mile north of here. I want to try to get a close-up shot but the light might not be good as dusk will be approaching. If I like it I may swap the pictures later.

I also need to do a lot of back-blipping as I have been rather remiss lately. I don't want to abandon blip-ship totally. 

Update:
This evening it was so dark when the train passed by that the pictures weren't very good. There was atmospheric light from the fire in the driver's cab, but the ISO was rather too high for comfort. Another time, except for this engine that may mot be possible. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.