CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

View north from a bridge over Standish Junction

I spent a while prospecting for a new viewpoint over the railway tracks around Stroud. I wanted to record the visit of a steam engine in a week's time and was looking for a suitable place where I could easily stand, providing a viewpoint and where the light might be appropriate, as it would be a morning scene.

I had been to this bridge before. It is down a dirt road about a mile from the main road leading to a farm house isolated by the railway. The junction is where the main north south line from Birmingham to Bristol is joined by the slightly more 'junior' line from Cheltenham to Swindon and London, which uses the Stroud river valley.

As I stood watching the brooding clouds and waiting for the next burst of rain, this southbound train acted as a test subject, although the steam engine would approach on the rising track and at relatively low speed. It would also be the return leg in the afternoon. I really needed to find a view =in the opposite direction, looking into the sun. More work is needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.