Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1923. River Tay

I have been very touched by the comments I’ve been getting from the lovely folk on Blipfoto that it’s given me a real boost to start posting again when I feel able to....so thank you all....

I took this photo today of the River Tay from the viewing platform in the centre of town today.  The river is higher than I have seen it in a very long time.

We looked at one of these properties on the other side of the river before we settled on our current home and looking at this I’m very glad we decided against it.  They have flood defences which would have been closed today no doubt but the properties nearer the edge must be under threat and even if they aren’t flooded various buildings have been threatened with sewage on the town side of the river including our local Wetherspoons which actually opened but the stench of sewage inside was dreadful.  This is not the first time the pub has had issues with sewage in its basement.

My eldest had their house flooded in the Borders last weekend and although it was only 3” it has caused damage and has made them go back to the drawing board as far as their flood defences are considered having spent thousands on them when they moved in.  But they’ve only had to replace their dishwasher with all of the other appliances surviving the soaking.  We’ve also had water ingress in our newly decorated lounge from the flat roof of our neighbours upstairs, thankfully only a stain on the ceiling...but this weather seems to be doing so much damage...how people can continue to deny climate change now is beyond me.  

Life is pretty tough just now but I’m hoping that things will soon improve.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.