A is for Asha

I went off to San Jordi flea market this morning - a bit of time alone! Time to read my book as I waited for the bus and travelled there - reading about Sabbath. Feeling the need for better rhythms in our life.
As soon as I got to the flea market I bumped into 2 of the homeless guys, André and Cooper. They're both about my age...we ended up mooching round together and chatting more about life and family, likes and dislikes etc... I had a humbling moment when André bought me a dress...he insisted of giving me the gift...I found it so hard to accept! But equally it felt SO important for 1) humbling me, 2) having no power dynamic of 'helper vs helpee' (!), 3) him knowing he had something to give. I think in the end it was joy on both sides. 
Late afternoon saw Todd and Claire, and Chris. And now an evening in with a still unwell Juliane, talking about Sabbath, looking through books for some good Lent devotionals, and enjoying our last remaining days together (she goes Tuesday). 

Today I'm grateful for;
1) Danny sending me out for a few hours r&r.
2) The fun of just being 3 friends with Cooper and André - not homeless and non-homeless.
3) Stimulating discussion re Sabbath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.