Poppy

By Poppy

Cold and Bright

Another freezing day. The ice on the bird bath has not melted at all. My three week old cold has not shifted and I'm getting a bit sick of it, so I wrapped up warm and took myself down to the doctor. What was a cold, cough and sweating and shivering has now metamorphosed into sinusitis and an ear infection! Oh joy! How I wish I was still in paid employment and could get sick pay! No, not really, I don't, not for one tiny moment!

Still, the up-side was that the old gnarled trees outside the surgery were looking lovely in the sunshine, all covered in lichen. It was only when I looked closely I could see all the buds starting to appear on the bushes in the foreground. Although I'm desperate for some snow, it will be such a shame if they all get frosted. We usually get a good fall of snow when the daffodils are out, so it's a bit early yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.