Border Tails

By Swannie

JJ resting her eyelids

I was off today, so I headed into Galashiels for a check up with my new dentist. I have to say, I was very impressed. I have been going to the same chap since I came here and although he was very uncommunicative, he did the job. That was until he filled my eye tooth last month with a silver filling and the tooth now looks as if it is turning black! I thought, as I am an NHS patient, that I would just have to put up with it.

A few weeks ago Christine was showing me her dental estimate. She has been offered white fillings, at extra cost and she goes to the same practice as me! Time to vote with my feet! I found another practice and the lady dentist was absolutely lovely. She gave me some good advice and thoroughly checked my teeth including impressions and xrays.

I’ve been offered a splint (a custom made gum shield) to help with my Bruxism - teeth grinding - and she is going to refill my incisor with a lovely white filling. The best bit is I continue to be an NHS patient at the new practice, although I will pay extra for the work that this doesn’t cover.

PS the blip is a JJ having a snooze. I tried for an eyes open shot, but she was having none of it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.