Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Whatever happened to black ice?

Spent the day at Cranfield University today attending the PPM forum which was good in parts, especially the lunch.

It amazes me how much better the roads are in the winter these days compared to my youth x years ago. It was -2 deg and my journey involved cutting across town to get to the motorway, the M1 and then country roads to Cranfield and at no point did I encounter a slippery surface, let alone black ice. I recall winters when at this temperatrure, most roads would have been like a skating rink.

Someone somewhere is doing something right, but at the same time,it means that drivers today are not getting the experience we got of driving in difficult conditions. Can't help thinking this is why everything grinds to a halt the minute we get even a light dusting of snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.