Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Remember film?

This 365 project has pushed me into sorting out my digital cameras so that I have something suitable for different occassions. Like many of you I'm sure, I had rather more cameras than I realised and have set about rationalising them . To-date that means I have brought 2 new cameras and sold 2 old cameras which doesn't sound like much of a rationalisation, but there are 2 more to sell, so on balance my collection will be down which is a good thing.

Anyway one of the issues I have is locating the chargers for some of these cameras. In the hunt, I turned up a little stash of film left over from my days of film photography some 10 or so years ago. It just reminded me how much easier photography has become. In taking this simple shot, I was able to shoot a dozen shots, change ISO settings, review the results, choose the best photo and tweak it in photoshop and all in the space of 20 minutes before I went to work this morning. When I did an evening course way back when, this morning's photo shoot would have taken about a week and cost about a tenner in film and developing costs with every possibility that there wasn't a decent picture at the end.

We actually mocked the digital photography course that was running in parallel to our course suggesting that it was just for holiday makers wanting to take snaps. I think we were probably right in our assessment at the time, but we underestimated how much digital photography would advance.

If practice makes perfect, we really have no excuse for not being excellent photographers these days, but I suspect the true art is still in seeing a good picture in the first place and that is a skill that is not so easy to come by.

Now, what to do with all that film?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.