Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Living on The Edge

There must be some huge exhibition going on in town. G commented about the traffic yesterday after she dropped me off; today I saw it for myself. My taxi driver was not very happy when he dropped me!

No matter, I had a productive day at work and even better one after. G's driver's licence needs to be renewed, so we headed to an optician in Bur Juman to get an eye test done. The first store we went into had stunning design (so much so, I wanted to blip it), but not very good sales service, so we quickly moved on to another optician right next door. They were the complete opposite and also cheaper so we went with them. In less than thirty minutes, G's test was done and the kind saleslady took G's details and uploaded them directly to the issuing body's website. We could have driven over to one of the RTA's customer happiness centres to finish everything today, but came home instead for lunch and that's where we've been since then!

On the way back to the car (via Matalan), we discovered this new adventure area that's been created in one of the best parts of the mall. A feature glass ceiling has been used to maximum effect. It's so cool, I think I'd like to have a go at the obstacle course. There's even a 20-metre zip line which terminates just outside a medical clinic! (I don't think that was intentional). G made enquiries about possibly having the Awana end of year activity here.

And today being Shrove Tuesday, we had pancakes for dessert. Lent already. Gosh.

PS. G's new licence will be valid for five years. Not bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.