Friday Foto

By drmackem

Dancing

The miseducation of…..
 
A Photo
You dancin'?
You askin'?
I'm askin'
I'm dancin'

 
A Muse
The Cellist – a ballet presenting the life of Jacqueline du Pre was playing at the Royal Opera House yesterday evening and I had the joy of watching it streamed live to the local comfy picture house.
 
Du Pre’s recording of Elgar’s Cello Concerto would be one of my earliest memories of classical music, I still love to listen to it today. 
Marcelino Sambe was the cello (an aside, if you ever get the chance to watch him dance, cancel whatever you are doing, mortgage the house if you have too, but go watch him dance – wow!), along with Matthew Bourne as Michael Baranboim and Laruen Cuthbertson as de Pre. What they and others produced last night was so entranching, my memory of it, whilst I know physiologically not possible, was that I held my breath for an hour.
 
This  was a beautiful and intimate piece. 
A love story with so many faces, including the fall of the realisation of loss, which we all felt as de Pre’s hands so sure and instinctive trembled at the first sign of her developing multiple sclerosis which brought an end to her public playing aged 28.
 
I’m left with a head full of lingering thoughts.
One is that her cello a Stradivarius crafted in the 1600’s had other players before, and more recently YoYo Ma and currently Kyril Zlotnikov, which gets me thinking about things that endure and the stories they could tell.
Another is that I need more beauty in my life, or more correctly, I need to notice the beauty in my life.

More play.
More beauty.
Intention and noticing.

More dancing? - that wouldn't be hard.
 
PS
The other piece last night was also wonderful, apart from a 90 sec part which I can only describe as throw the ballerina, mercifully one of the boy dancers was playing catch and had been practicing. Too much jeopardy for me to endure after the day I'd had in the city.


A Tune
Elgar Cello Concerto E Minor III. Adagio - Jacqueline du Pre

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.