DrSandy

By DrSandy

Cabbages IN THE SOUP

My first port of call, en route to the farm, was to pick up Cyngen at the Kia motors.  He needed a lift back to the farm, having dropped the bakkie off, for a service.

It was a challenging ride, to the farm.

I tried really hard, to make conversation.  OMG !  All I got was one syllable grunts and then, he promptly fell asleep.  Like father like son.  And NO, that is NOT a compliment.

Anyway, when I arrived at the farm, it was officially, a very "exciting" day.

The occasion, the  first cabbages have been picked.

Granted it is hell of a late in the season, but, in my opinion it is a HUGE DEAL.  It means that there is actually some money coming in.

This increases the odds, I will get the money, that is still owed me.  Plus, it must put the whole operation, in a slightly better place.

NOTE :  No one else on the farm, seemed particularly excited, but I did my best to "celebrate" the achievement and persuaded, Karen to stand next to them, for my blip.


I wish I could say the rest of my day, was RA RA.

It wasn't, I ended up................ in the soup, come home time.

Basically, I encountered an enormous broken down truck, on the sand road, running alongside the railway line, as I excited the property. 

Now, if this had happened, pretty much anywhere else along the road, it would NOT, have been a BIG PROBLEM.  A little bundu bashing, would have seen me, make it round the truck.

But NO......... the truck, was stuck, at the one spot in the road, which drops down, into a vlei.  It is a so-called "bridge".  The vegetation is waist high and reeds, not grass.

I was NOT prepared to drive round the truck, with my very flat bottomed Opel, fearing, the worst.   

As I was contemplating the situation.  Another truck drove up and parked me in.   I blipped this "wonderful moment" - see the extra.

20 minutes later, having nearly been wiped out, by the second truck, OVERTAKING ME, to drive through the reeds, I was able, to reverse the car, down the dirt path, to a point where I could turn round.

I had alerted Karen to the situation.......

So, when I headed back to the farm, Cyngen, was on the quad bike and he showed me, an alternative route, to get back to the main road.

It was windy windy and VERY farm-ey - the Opel, was NOT HAPPY.

Neither was the human, driving the Opel.

"We" did eventually make it home, about 2 hours later, than planned. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.