stujphoto

By stujphoto

Discovering lesser known parts of Edinburgh

Yesterday afternoon I decided to continue my project of visiting lesser know parts of Edinburgh and chose to go to Portobello. We have obviously been down to the beach there with the family when they were younger but apart from the massive lag stretch of sand and the occasional groynes I knew little about it.

Almost as soon as I ventured out of the car park in Bridge Street I was assailed by three features I had not seen previously - an 'art deco' style block of flats with a pottery bottle kiln beside it and on the wall of the flats a mural of some sort. My blip manages to encompass all three of these features. Evidently the area is known historically for its potteries and one of them has been preserved. The significance of the mural (it is in fact a blown up photograph) is less obvious and In have not been able to discover any thing about it. It shows a group of women outside what looks like a chip shop but this is pure supposition so if any body knows more I would be intrigued to hear.

I also decided to explore Figgate Park v. which I had noticed was close by on the map. It was difficult to find the way in but I got there eventually. It is hidden right in the middle of residential/industrial area. It is a wild life park which is dominated by a man made lake set in a valley.  It was built in 1938 on the site of some flooded clay pits (hence the potteries) and has been developed as wildlife sanctuary for wild fowl. I saw swans, barnacle geese, a heron and terns but there are many species that inhabit it. There is a board walk over part of the lake for better viewing of the wildlife. It seems like a little peaceful gem in the heart of the city and is perfectly screened bt trees around it thoughtcrimes you can see one or two electric pylons outside. (see extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.