The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Beech leaf

Sapling beeches don't shed all of their dead leaves in the Autumn, most have now dropped but some stubbornly hang on. This one was backlit by bright morning sunshine filtered through the wood beyond, the bokeh the product of the beech and birch twigs adorned with droplets from the overnight sleet and rain.  Gus needed all his patience while I tried to find the right leaf, and then when I found the backlit hazel catkins (see extra).

It looks like this may have been another rare calm interlude in this soggy, windy winter, Storm Jorge arrives tomorrow.

I went for a wander in Gait Barrows this afternoon. Whenever I go I wonder why I don't visit more often. Mind you, I did manage to freakishly twist my big toe through wearing wellies to walk over a tussocky marsh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.