Rude awakening

After a sweaty, poorly and clammy night, I had a rude awakening from some incessant doorbell ringing. The apartment is colonial era and the bell is one of those bone-shattering ones that can’t be ignored. With sheets of sweat pouring I had to face two people from the ‘municipality’ thrusting a piece of paper, talking about irregularidades in the apartment and demanding that I show up at a random office for an appointment next week.

I’ve got even less patience for these types of demand when not feeling well. I palmed them off on Tomás who helps take care of the building and told them they need to speak to the owner, not me.

I didn’t venture far today but didn’t cancel my Portuguese lesson. I told Ilidio I wasn’t feeling well and it led onto a discussion about diseases. I now feel well versed about diarrhoea, hepatitis and scabies in Portuguese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.