René to the rescue

I woke up and my botched lip fillers had developed what felt like an infection, as I felt weak and feeble. I had to ask friends what one does about visiting a doctor in Maputo, and I wound up visiting Cuban Doctor René at Centro Médico Galeno. The centro médico does look like the kind of cute place I’d want to go to for treatment, and it was a successful visit overall despite an alarming pronouncement.

‘An infection in this location is very dangerous as it can spread to the brain’, said René.

‘Prescribe me some antibiotics then doc, and I’ll be on my merry way before I get septicaemia of the brain.’

I emerged clutching my paper bag of pills after a clinical (no pun intended) and useful exchange. I may invent reasons to visit again.

The day reminded me of one in Cambodia when I was feeling feeble and Megan brought me over a coconut and a sandwich in the evening. The cats at Henri’s, where I was lodging, were so screechy, mange-ridden and unappealing that despite being a normal cat lover, Megan was compelled to dart away in my hour of need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.