Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Wheel

Thursday's weather forecast suggested a sunny day lay ahead. There have not been too many of them recently and I was quite excited by the prospect of going for a walk that didn't involve squelching through mud, splashing through puddles or being covered from head to foot in waterproofs.

In fact, I thought, it would be a good day to continue my east-to-west walk along the length of the Forth and Clyde Canal.

In the event, the sun did shine but only between bouts of hiding behind the clouds, and there was a stiff, cold breeze in my face for practically all of my walk. Scotland in winter, well what did I expect?

It was early afternoon when I took a bus into Camelon, walked up to the Canal and started out, first stop the Falkirk Wheel (pictured). Stiff wind in my face notwithstanding, I had a good walk through Bonnybridge and Banknock, finishing up about three hours and 13km later at Kelvinhead.

An added, and very welcome, bonus was that the bus home was running several minutes late. I thought I had missed it (it is an hourly service) by about three minutes and was pondering my next move when it appeared around the corner. Result!

All that remains now is to sort out my photos from the walk and to wait for the next sunny, dry (and hopefully less windy) day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.