Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Bottle

Between August and November 2018 I walked the length of the Forth and Clyde Canal (in a number of short stages) from Bowling to Carron Lock. Since then, I've been intending to repeat the walk in a different season of the year and also to do it from east to west. Well, on Wednesday afternoon I started out on that quest.

Wednesday morning started cold, wet and windy, but the sun broke through in the early afternoon and that gave me the ideal opportunity to drag myself away from the computer where I was sorting, editing and filing old photographs. The Canal Walk 2020 was on!

I took a bus into Falkirk and another over to the Helix Park from where I walked down to the Kelpies Marina and the start of my walk. There was still a bit of a cold wind in my face, but also the sun in my eyes, and I made it as far as the Falkirk Wheel before the dusk and the clouds set in. Oh well, it was a start!

There are a number of sculptures along the route, in addition to the Kelpies of course, and among them are these bottles opposite the site of the former Rosebank Distillery. The Distillery is currently being rebuilt as it is planned to open a new one on the site.

I've added an extra of another bottle sculpture - this one at Lock 5 at Bainsford and representing McAuley's Vinegar Works, which was near this site around the 1850's (according to a nearby interpretation board).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.