The Gutted Pioneer, Hastings

I'm writing this today (Saturday) as I was knocked out by all the sea air on Wednesday (I'm much more used to the polluted air of London during the week) and then being so busy with work Thursday and Friday.
Anyhow, Wednesday began with a stop off in Tenterden for a slice of cake and a coffee - very nice it was too - before carrying on to Hastings for the day. My first destination when I got there was to the Contemporary Gallery to see the exhibitions that were on. They were all excellent and I got to see some works by one of my artistic heroes, Edward Burra. He painted mainly in watercolour due to severe arthritis but his paintings are in no way wishy-washy, they are full of brilliant use of line, colour and gesture. A totally unique talent who was not always given critical acclaim for his wonderfully original works.
It was then time to get my camera out and go for a walk along the very striking shingle beach. The main image is one of the fleet of fishing vessels that rests on the shingle at low tide. As I was taking the shot, my back to the sea (a rookie error!), a wave came up the shingle and up over my boots. I got two rather wet feet!
The first extra is called "The Lonely Litter Picker". He seemed very absorbed in his rather thankless task. Second extra is called "Seagull Trampolines". Being winter all the rides, boating lake and other attractions were closed for the season. It gives everything a melancholy feel to it - as if higher temperatures and a warming sun will bring it all back to life, which I suppose it will.
The third extra "Beaching The Art" was taken at the back of the fishing sheds and the final extra was just me trying to capture the extraordinary light and sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.