Bee tucker

You probably know that the bee population has fallen. Throughout spring and summer I've only seen the odd bee in among a healthy population of bumblebees.

I discovered today that bees love sedum flowers. Mine are just starting to flower and I counted 10 bees on them late this afternoon.

I'm delighted :-)

I've had or have flowering fruit trees, cat nip, marigolds, tomato flowers, gaura, thyme, rosemary, echinaceas and various other perennials, and wild flowers. The bumblebees have been all over them with just the occasional bee.

The sedums are clearly bringing the bees in. If you want bees in your garden, grow sedums.

Today's gratitude: For bees. They're so important and I wanted a bee friendly garden and it seems to be working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.