Northern Star

By Lifferz

Catching a break

Wandered around Tetbury for an hour or so this morning despite waking very early and feeling like I had only had 2 hours of sleep (I had managed about 5 hours). Glad I made the effort to go out as I managed to get quite a bit of food for the week. I picked up some interesting items from the charity shops such as a beautiful thick, red glass tea-light holder, a lovely blue cotton cardigan and a very trendy (for me) black Diesel shirt.

Drove to Westonbirt and managed to walk around the edges of SilkWood in slightly fun conditions- at one point I was running in horizontal snow. I saw very few other people because of the weather and the whole experience was rather pretty. I grabbed a coffee at the rammed packed cafe (everyone that was there was avoiding the weather). I decided to walk around the old arboretum at a very leisurely pace as by that stage we had blue skies for a bit and the sun was shining. It all felt very calm and meditative. It was great to see the magnolias looking colourful. Hopefully I’ll have time to go back in a couple of weeks when they could be in full bloom. I managed to walk about 6 miles today.

Headed to Home Farm (Duchy Originals) to grab some nice onions from their little lean to shed. Paid my money to the honesty box and then briefly examined a very large and weird contraption they’ve put in. It’s some sort of milk dispenser system that is serve yourself, from what I could make out. You can pay by tapping your debit card on the machine and they seemed to have another machine dispensing bottles. There were posters about the place which were trying to explain it all but I didn’t hang around. I think the whole system may be the subject of a blip in the future .

Popped into nailsworth on the way home to get much needed houseplant compost and houseplant food (guess what I’m doing later?!)

I wandered around the charity shops in Nailsworth and found a great secondhand leather briefcase for work, it just needs some leather polish. It’s the same brand of briefcase I always use. I seriously never see a good briefcase in charity shops unless I’m in real need of one.

Cheese scones and ham for dinner

Feeling grateful, tired and thankfully warm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.