Dribs and Drabs of 2014

By RodgerEvans01

Old School Scope

Sitting in my office today and looking for something to shoot/blip, I remembered that I saved a bunch of antique (1920's/30's) microscopes from certain (recycling) death when we switched buildings. I took them mainly for the beautiful dovetail, wood boxes they live in, as the microscopes themselves are virtually non-functional.

I broke out a few and took several sets of pics from different angles. One is a "field" scope and is very simple, the other a "compound" microscope. Both are interesting in their own right, and more importantly both have brass fittings and adjustments on a black body. A very striking contrast.

I couldn't decide which I liked best, and my Facebook post resulted in a tie. I've "blipped" the compound scope only because it has greater detail, and I think the lighting I used (single off camera flash and diffuse window light) worked better for this particular microscope.

Hope this image allows you to appreciate the artistic beauty of these scientific tools.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.