earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Eyes on Detail

I've said it before. Being slowed down allows me to give more attention to detail. It just so happened that I'd arranged a coffee meet this morning with a writing friend and things had improved enough with the knee to allow me to walk into town without too much discomfort. My friend is ahead of the game compared with me, having completed her first novel, but still keen for feedback and open to changes where they might be necessary. We'd swapped our opening chapters and had critiqued each other's work. We met to discuss. Three whole hours passed in a flash.

It helps that we write in very different styles. We were both able to pick up on important things that had hitherto gone unnoticed. It was great to be given confirmation of what worked well and pointers as to what didn't and could be improved. I'm happy to report that there was far more of the former than the latter. We both agreed it was an immensely useful exercise. It helps that we have a lot of respect for each other's writing and we're thoroughly enjoying each other's stories. I'm not sure the process would work if that wasn't the case. 

Everything is in the detail. It always is. I've been editing hard all day, working on detail, only slightly cursing the lack of mobility on a rare sunny day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.