Nothing Silly ...

.... about this!

We feel so lucky to have all the different birds visit our yard on a daily basis.  And I feel lucky that I was able to photograph these three beauties after we had returned from Lowe's.  It's been a while since I got a decent shot of a Northern Cardinal ... female or male.  And today I got both!  Of course, the female isn't as showy as the male but she's still beautiful.  The little yellow bird is a male American Goldfinch. It appears as if his summer yellow is just starting to come back.  They are rather nondescript in winter months having lost their bright yellow in the autumn.  (Now that I look at some pictures online of the goldfinches this could actually be a breeding female.  If any one can tell me for sure I would be appreciative!)

Speaking of birds .... we had a huge flock of Common Grackles this morning in the backyard.  About 30-40 grackles showed up shortly after I put out the peanuts!  I should have tried for some pictures but for some reason I didn't even go for my camera.  I simply enjoyed watching them. 

Lowe's was our only outing today as it was almost bitter cold .... and still a bit windy.  I have been shopping for a toilet seat and had ordered a couple from Amazon that I didn't really like.  I found a nice one at Lowe's this afternoon and I think it's the one.  You won't think that finding a toilet seat would be this difficult!

So I guess this wraps up February!  Where is the time going?!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.