Bo'ness Betty

This figurehead, named Bo'ness Betty, is in the Blackness pub the Lobster Pot. There's a story attached to this figurehead, literally affixed round the back. I'm not sure I believe the story though; I've never heard of a sailing ship with a cargo of woodpeckers. But I'm open, as ever, to correction.

Met our friends S&J at Blackness today. The original idea was to walk from Bo'ness to Blackness, have lunch and do the return walk. The weather put paid to that idea so we just met at the Lobster Pot, had lunch, a very quick walk and, in a horrible squall, called it a day. Now home, the sun is shining but there's a nasty cold wind.

We had an unexpected visit later on in the afternoon from the baby boy and his parents. They'd been away in Pitlochry for the weekend celebrating his mum's big birthday. Lovely to see them all.

An extra for St David. I'd say that March came in like a lion and the daffodils wouldn't stay still for me.

We will be having a quiet evening as I'm on the early train to Dundee in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.