Imagine All The People

Synchronistically, John Lennon's track has just come on in the restaurant where we're enjoying a Manhattan cocktail in a place in Bleecker Street, New York. It's just as I'm choosing between a Freedom Tower shot or one of the sunken memorial wells that commemorate the lives lost in the terrible events of 9/11.

The latter has to win out. The extras will contain various shots of the new, fantastic tower.

My first ever street sight of Manhattan was of the twin towers as I came up out of the subway after arriving in Greenwich Village from Newark airport.

I'll never forget their soaring magnificence, only before seen by me in photos, accompanied by the tang-tang of basketballs in the fenced-in courts, just beside the subway exit.

No-where, before or since, has excited me more on arrival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.